IAEA and URT have Signed Tanzania’s Country Programme Framework (CPF) for the period of 2018 – 2022

Sep 21, 2018

Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Permanent Representative of the United Republic of Tanzania to the United Nations, Geneva and Vienna, Dr. James Alex Msekela and Mr. Dazhu Yang, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Technical Cooperation, have signed Tanzania ‘s Country Programme Framework (CPF) for the period of 2018 – 2022 this September 2018. The signing ceremony was witnessed by the Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, Prof. James Mdoe, Director TC Africa Prof. Abdulzack Shaukat, Tanzania Atomic Energy Commission Director General Prof. Lazaro Busagala and the Tanzania delegation to the IAEA 62 General Conference.

A Country Programme Framework (CPF) is the frame of reference planning of technical cooperation between United Republic of Tanzania and the IAEA and identifies priority areas where the transfer of nuclear technology and technical cooperation resources will be directed to support national development goals. The CPF programme will cover the period of five years, from 2018 to 2022. This CPF outlines a five year strategy anchored in Tanzania’s current goals and priorities. The projects that will be developed under this CPF will be geared towards assisting Tanzania to achieve its Development Vision 2025, Zanzibar’s Vision 2020 and the National Five Year Development Plan (FYDPII) 2016/17-2020/21. The projects will be aimed at alleviating poverty in the country and nurturing industrialization for economic transformation and human development.

The Country Programme Framework (CPF) constitutes a collaborative effort for medium-term technical cooperation between the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the Government of the United Republic of Tanzania (URT). The CPF is aligned to the United Nationals Development Assistance Programme (UNDAP) II (2016-2021).